Advisor Contact Information

Find Your Academic Advisor

 

The College of Arts and Sciences houses three distinct types of Academic Advisors for majors and supplemental advising for Health Professions. If you are interested in the Health Professions please see the Health Professions section. If you do not currently have a major, select Academic Counselors. If you have officially declared your major, you can select Departmental/Faculty Advisors for questions concerning your major. For all other degree requirements, select Academic Advisors.

Health Professions Advisors

The primary focus of these Academic Counselors is to provide students with supplemental advising regarding application to a graduate professional school in the health professions (such as medical school, dental school etc.) or transferring to an allied health program for programs that are not available at UNT (nursing, occupational therapy etc.)


The Health Professions Coordinator and Academic Counselor assists students with appropriate major and minor selection, courses that meet pre-professional requirements, and applications and recommendations to graduate professional schools in the following fields:

  • Dentistry
  • Medicine (Medical and Physician Assistant Schools)
  • Optometry
  • Pharmacy
  • Physical Therapy
  • Veterinary Science

Dr. Debrah Beck (Juniors, Seniors, Post Baccalaureate, and JAMP students only)
HealthProfessions@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Patavia Whaley (Freshman, Sophomores and Prospective students only)
HealthProfessions@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051


The Allied Health Academic Counselor assists all students with course selections that meet pre-professional program requirements and provides information on application to professional schools in the following fields:

  • Chiropractic
  • Dietary Technician
  • Dental Hygiene
  • Nursing
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Respiratory Therapy

Patavia Whaley
Patavia.Whaley@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

 Academic Advisors and Counselors for Arts & Sciences Majors

Academic Advisors/Counselors work in conjunction with Departmental or Faculty Advisors, Academic Advisors assist students with chosen majors in answering questions concerning General University, Core, and College of Arts and Sciences requirements. They are available to review official degree audits with students, perform graduation checks with students, and review all situations requiring Dean's Office Approval for Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Students (such as Concurrent Enrollment, Overload, and Pass/No Pass Course Option approvals). Arts and Sciences Academic Counselors are also the departmental advisors for General Studies and Social Studies majors.

Academic Advisors and Majors are divided by the clusters/teams below. To set up an appointment with your Academic Advisor/Counselor please call (940) 565-2051.


Integrative Studies, General Studies and Social Science Majors

Laurie Carroll (advises students with last names A-G)
Laurie.Carroll@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Dawn Oltman (advises students with last names H-N)
Dawn.Oltman@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Melissa Eenigenburg (advises students with last names O-Z)
Melissa.Eenigenburg@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Kristin Ringe (advises overflow for students with last names A-Z)
Kristin.Ringe@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051


Humanities and Geography Majors

  • English (concentrations - Creative Writing, Language Arts, Literature, & Writing and Rhetoric)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • World Languages

Robin Gillespie (advises students with last names A-K)
Robin.Gillespie@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Olivia Harris (advises students with last names L-Z)
Olivia.Harris@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

New Advisor Coming Soon
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051


Mass Communications and Performing Arts

  • Communication Studies
  • Converged Broadcast Media
  • Dance
  • Professional Technical Communication
  • Radio, Television and Film
  • Theatre

Laura Flowers (advises students with last names A-E)
Laura.Flowers@unt.edu 
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts Building 262
(940) 565-2051

Todd Lang (advises students with last names F-L)
Todd.Lang@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Katie Jenkins (advises students with last names M-R)
Katherine.Jenkins@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Lisa Whitby (advises students with last names S-Z)
Lisa.Whitby@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051


Science and Mathematics

  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Cytotechnology (this major is closed to new students)
  • Engineering Physics (this major is closed to new students)
  • Mathematics
  • Medical Laboratory Sciences (formerly Medical Technology)
  • Physics

Brandy Ellis (advises for Biochemistry, Biology, Cytotechnology and
Medical Laboratory Sciences majors only - all students)
Brandy.Ellis@unt.edu 
Life Sciences Wing A room 128
(940) 565-2051

New Advisor Coming Soon
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Hannah Evans (advises last names A-I)
Hannah.Evans@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Madalyn Smith (advises last names J-O)
Madalyn.Smith@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Tanya Quiroz (advises last names P-Z)
Tanya.Quiroz@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051


Social Science

  • Economics
  • International Studies (concentrations - Africa & the Middle East, International Business & Economics, International Development and Humanitarian Afairs, International Security and Diplomacy, Peace Studies, & Regional Studies)
  • Political Science
  • Psychology

New Advisor Coming Soon (advises for International Studies majors only)
GAB 470
(940) 565-2323

Nina Ditoro (advises Psychology majors only)
Nina.Ditoro@unt.edu 
Terrill Hall 330
(940) 565-2051

KAS McConnell (advises last names A-I)
KAS.McConnell@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Esther Oppong (advises last names J-O)
Esther.Oppong@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Katie Boyle (advises last names P-Z)
Kathryn.Boyle@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

 

Departmental/Faculty Advisors for Arts and Sciences Majors

Departmental/Faculty Advisors work in conjunction with Academic Advisors, mentoring students in their academic disciplines by helping them understand requirements in the major, career options with that major, and start the process for obtaining an official degree audit. Advisors for Special Programs such as Women's Studies are listed below the Departmental Advisors. To set up an appointment with your faculty advisor see the contact information below.


Biology Department Advising Office
Life Sciences Wing A room 128
(940) 565-3627
 

Biochemistry, Biology, Ecology for Environmental Science and Medical Laboratory Science/Cytotechnology Advisors

Mark Burleson & Mark Demarest
biology@unt.edu 
Life Sciences Wing A room 128
(940) 565-3627

 


Chemistry Department
Chemistry 101
(940) 565-2713

Chemistry Student Services Office
Chemistry 207
(940) 565-3554
 

Chemistry Advisor

Guido Verbeck
gverbeck@unt.edu 
Chemistry Building 207
(940) 565-3554


Communication Studies Department
General Academic Building 320
(940) 565-2588

Communication Studies Advisors

Holley Vaughn
Holley.Vaughn@unt.edu
General Academic Building 320F
(940)565-3456


Dance and Theater Department
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 242
(940) 565-2211

Dance and Theatre Advisor

Amanda Breaz
DAT-Advising@unt.edu 
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 242
(940) 369-7546

 


Economics Department
Hickory Hall 254
(940) 565-2573

Economics Advisors

Harry Ellis, Jr.
hellis@unt.edu 
Hickory Hall 284
(940) 565-2246

Jiyoung Kwon
kwon@unt.edu 
Hickory Hall 283B
(940) 369-8376

Katie Raynor
kraynor@unt.edu 
Hickory Hall 283A
(940) 565-3169


English Department
Auditorium Building 112
(940) 565-2050

English Advisors

Patrice Lyke
Patrice.Lyke@unt.edu 
Auditorium Building 114
(940) 565-2107


Geography Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 210
(940) 565-2091

Geography Advisors

Paul Hudak
hudak@unt.edu 
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 310B
(940)565-4312

Kent McGregor
mcgregor@unt.edu 
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 310R
(940) 565-2380


History Department
Wooten Hall 225
(940) 565-2288

History Advisors

(Donald) Keith Mitchener
Donald.Mitchener@unt.edu 
Wooten Hall 228
(940) 565-4215


International Studies
General Academic Building 470
(940) 565-2323

International Studies Advisors

New Advisor Coming Soon
See a Social Science Team Advisor listed above for assistance
GAB 470
(940) 565-2323

 


Mathematics Department
General Academic Building 435
(940) 565-2155

Mathematics Advisors

Jianguo Liu
MathAdvising@unt.edu 
GAB 471A
(940) 565-4703

John Quintanilla
MathAdvising@unt.edu 
GAB 418D
(940) 565-4043

Huguette Tran (only advises for Actuarial Science Certificate)
MathAdvising@unt.edu 
GAB 421
(940) 369-5954

Jennifer McDonald (Teach North Texas Math Advisor)
TNTadvisor@unt.edu 
Wooten Hall 337
(940) 565-3890


Media Arts Department
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 262
(940) 565-2537

Radio/Television/Film Advisors

Brenda Jaskulske
Brenda.Jaskulske@unt.edu 
RTFP 229
(940) 369-7838

Converged Broadcast Media Advisor

Phyllis Slocum
slocum@unt.edu 
RTFP 261C
(940) 565-2565


Philosophy and Religion Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 225
(940) 565-2266

Philosophy Advisors

Matt Story
Matt.Story@unt.edu 
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 225
(940) 369-8017

Michael Thompson
Michael.Thompson@unt.edu 
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 320E
(940) 565-2266


Physics Department
Physics Building 110
(940) 565-2626

Physics Advisors

Cheryl Lawler
Cheryl.Lawler@unt.edu 
Environmental Science 220B
(940) 369-7748


Political Science Department
Wooten Hall 125
(940) 565-2276

Political Science Advisors

Eddie Meaders
meaders@unt.edu 
Wooten Hall 141
(940)565-2310


Pre-Law Advisors

Wendy Watson
prelaw@unt.edu 
Wooten Hall 129
(940) 565-4413


Psychology Department
Terrill Hall 351
(940) 565-2671

Psychology Advisors

Advisors (Graduate Assistants to Faculty Advisor)
PSYCAdvising@unt.edu 
Terrill 330
(940) 565-2671

Michael Barnett
Michael.Barnett@unt.edu 
Terrill 330
(940) 565-2376


Sociology Department
Chilton Hall 390
(940) 565-2296

Sociology Advisors

Helen Potts
Helen.Potts.@unt.edu
Chilton Hall 390H
(940) 565-7801


Technical Communication Department
Auditorium Building 317
(940) 565-4458

Technical Communication Advisors

Erin Friess
Erin.Friess@unt.edu 
Contact Dept. for Office Location
(940) 565-4458


World Languages, Literatures and Cultures Department
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2404

World Languages Advisors

Emily Thurman
Emily.Thurman@unt.edu 
Language Building 403C
(940) 565-2582


Special Programs Advisors

Aerospace Studies
Athletics Building 101
(940) 565-2074
Det835@unt.edu

Forensic Science
Chemistry Building 207B
(940) 369-8458
Teresa Golden - forensic@unt.edu

Jewish Studies
General Academic Building 460
(940) 369-8926
Richard Golden - rmg@unt.edu

Military Science
Wooten Hall 325, (940) 369-8011
armyrotc@unt.edu

Teach North Texas (Math & Science Teaching Program)
Marquis Hall 127, (940) 565-2265
TNTadvisor@unt.edu

Women's Studies
General Academic Building 467
(940) 565-2532
Sandra Spencer - spencer@unt.edu

Office of Student Advising Leadership at the College of Arts & Sciences 

The Directors of the Advising Office are listed below with their area of specialization:

Ric Dwinnell
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Ric.Dwinnell@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Mike McKay
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Curriculum
Mike.McKay@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Julie Kirkland
Assistant Dean for Student Success
Julie.Kirkland@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Susan Bullinger
Assistant Dean for Advising Services
Susan.Bullinger@unt.edu 
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051