The College of Arts & Sciences became 2 new colleges on May 15th, 2017. This website may contain out of date information.

Biology, Chemistry, Math, and Physics students should visit the College of Science.

All other students should visit the College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences.


NTTV wins Lone Star Emmy for Best Student Production


NTTV presented the report, "Eagle Election Night 2008," as a three-hour live broadcast from UNT's University Union. NTTV reporters interviewed UNT administrators and members of the political science and economics faculty for analysis and perspective of the election results. Other student reporters aired live audio reports from the Denton County Republican and Democratic Party Headquarters, covering Denton County races as well as local presidential election returns. In addition, political science students provided background research on the races, and other students developed special election night graphics that were shown on the broadcast.

The Lone Star EMMY chapter is part of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The Lone Star chapter, based in Dallas, has presented awards each year since it was founded in 2002. The chapter is dedicated to becoming the primary portal to connect professionals and students in Texas' television broadcast-related fields for networking and career development. Chapter members are also committed to encouraging and recognizing high levels of professional achievement through the annual presentation of the Lone Star EMMY Awards.

The Lone Star EMMY Chapter serves all 19 television markets in Texas, and includes members from TV-related fields including: news and non-news broadcasting; production; post production; education; advertising; and public relations. Best Student Production is the only category to recognize work from university and college television stations.

In addition to "Eagle Election Night 2008," four other shows airing on NTTV were nominated for Lone Star EMMYs this year -- "NTTV Nightly News," the station's regular evening newscast; "Ardillando," a magazine/feature show produced entirely in Spanish; "Just a Little Different," a feature story that ran on NTTV Nightly News; and "Small Business," an entertainment show. The sixth nomination for Best Student Production was for a documentary produced by students at the University of Texas-Pan American.

Accepting the Best Student Production award for NTTV were Maddie Garrett, a May 2009 graduate who was news director for Eagle Election Night 2008; Michelle Ewing, a senior radio, television and film major who was the evening's marketing director; Mark Cizdziel, a May 2009 graduate who was the producer; and Marcee Schecht, a May 2009 graduate who was the engineer.

Phyllis Slocum, executive producer and station manager for NTTV, called NTTV's five nominations "remarkable."

"Dozens of NTTV, radio, television and film and UNT students were recognized for outstanding work. More than 150 students, staff and faculty were all part of Eagle Election Night. I always say TV is a team sport, and this is certainly proof of that," Slocum said. "I am so proud of every single NTTV student -- past and present -- because the bar is set so high and these students really go above and beyond."

The above text is based on a UNT News Service news release available on the web at